What do you want?

Happy New Year, I hope you had a good Christmas holiday. Many of us if not all of us have written down a few plans for the year. In a recent conversation with a few friends one of them said a mother defined New Year resolution to her little daughter as “a to-do list for the first week of January”. So I ask, did you create a to-do list for only the first week of January or the entire year of 2017? While there are those who have mapped a plan for the year there are others who haven’t, for various reasons. Some may say Que sera sera (whatever will be, will be), others may say the previous year plan wasn’t achieved, so what’s the use of creating a new one while some may be scared of writing down anything as a result of fear. While reading this, you will probably find yourself in one of the categories.

While there are those who have mapped a plan for the year there are others who haven’t for various reasons. Some may say Que sera sera

Let me start with the last category, there was a time I was like you. I have shared the story of my risky decision to switch careers before on the blog here but what I didn’t mention was what a friend told me. You see, its one thing to take a study leave for a Masters to return to that same job or something similar but it’s another thing to leave for a course entirely different from your already established career path. In his words he said “what do you stand to lose going for this course, what if you decide not to go and live with the thought of how your life would have turned out”? Yes I took the risk, one (1) year after graduation I’m still amazed at how far God has taken me and I know He hasn’t started with me yet. With that in mind take that risk.

what if you decide not to go and live with the thought of how your life would have turned out”

For the category of those who aren’t planning for the year cos’ of the unachieved goals of 2016, I have a few questions.  Who says it’s wrong to carry over a plan into the New Year? Who says a plan terminates on the 31st of December? I have experienced unexecuted plans and I gladly moved them over. Did I beat myself? No but I learnt from the experience.  You probably would have compared your life to someone else who got all their plans checked. But who says you’re in a race with the person. At the end of the day what was your goal for putting down those plans? Was it for the praise of men or a higher objective? With that in mind go to work.

For the category of the Que sera sera, my dear friend once said “if you don’t have a destination, you’ll get to the bus park and any bus will be convenient for you and you will never know when you’ve reached your destination”. What this means is you’ll receive anything 2017 throws at you, you can’t accurately rate your progress cos’ you don’t have any yardstick to calculate it. It’s like meeting a potential employer and when asked what kind of job you are looking for and you respond anything.

“if you don’t have a destination, you’ll get to the bus park and any bus will be convenient for you and you will never know when you’ve reached your destination”

2017 is not the year to say and expect anything, life doesn’t throw anything at you rather specific things. A man who had been sick for 38 years, clearly needed to be healed but when Jesus met him, he asked him in John 5:6 “Do you want to be made well”, Jesus Christ met another man begging by the road who was blind and He asked him in Luke 18:41 “What do you want me to do for you”. Ever wondered why He had to ask these men what they wanted? In the two verses the first man gave excuses why he hadn’t been healed while the second man kept on screaming Son of David, have mercy on me! Even when people kept him to shut up he kept on screaming which eventually caught Jesus’ attention. Are you going to keep on giving excuses why your life has taken a particular route or will you speak up?

Are you going to keep on giving excuses why your life has taken a particular route or will you speak up?

Just like the New Year message in my local church, “There’s more to me”. Until I do something nothing will be done by God. I need to Speak, Get Up and Move. You may have to make some decisions but it can’t be life as usual. Have you dreamed of going back to school, starting that business, writing that book, getting married, having your own children, purchasing that property, visiting a new country? It’ll only remain wishful thinking until you start making plans to achieve it. So I ask what do you want? At the end of 2017 what would have changed? Can the decisions you make this year be effective enough to affect the generations after you? See you on the other side.

dreams

Loads of Love

JMAD

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

