It will hurt, but you will feel better after

dsc02825

A few weeks back I had a Spa session; the days preceding the session had me really excited. For some funny reason I had some body aches culminated in carrying my laptop in my handbag back to back to work. I finally got to the venue, and the routine started, occasionally falling in and out of sleep but midway I felt some ache on my back and I let out a scream. The masseuse touched some areas to get the exact spot causing the pain, and she found it as a result of my body movement. She found some stress lumps and went on to massage the area, Oh!!! It hurt real bad but she said something remarkable, “It will hurt but you will feel better after” and it happened that way. I do feel better.

You’re probably wondering where I’m going with a spa session. Just stay with me a little longer. If you’ve recently made a life decision or about to make one, you may possibly have heard the following statement from well meaning people. Once you experience peace on the inside, it’s an indication you are making the right decision, an absence of peace means you’re on the wrong path. You see, while this statement may hold an element of truth it’s not applicable in every decision making venture. Two years ago I was at cross-roads in making a major decision in my life. A little history, I studied Metallurgical Engineering, I loved my Sciences with the exception of Biology. I was the student who had the funny combination of Further Math, Technical Drawing and History in high school. I graduated and worked in both a Telecommunication and Engineering firm. Everything seemed pretty normal, a paycheck at the end of the month, amazing colleagues but there was a desire for more and that more was an unknown territory.

I started the journey of going back to school for a Post-graduate degree and chose Peace and Conflict studies. It was insane, entirely off my Engineering trajectory, my dad, colleagues and friends asked why. Someone even asked me if I’ll ever get a job with that degree and did I mention I recently got promoted in the office with a raise in pay. While all these questions were going on on the outside, I had a major battle on the inside. It led to the post on Striking Out. I was scared, I stayed up nights thinking of the possible scenarios that could play out during and after my course, I spoke to people I respected, prayed, some days I thought I was making the biggest mistake of my life. Oh, and every form of peace disappeared in the months before my start date.

But I took the bulls by the horn, and went back to school and had the time of my life. Met amazing course mates, experienced what it meant to really take a stand for Jesus in an environment with people from various beliefs, went ahead to win the Nobel Peace Prize (not yet) Most likely to take over the world. But this is beyond the good stuff that happened. I’ve graduated and all glory to God, got a job in the same field. In the past few months I’ve been doing a lot of retrospection and I can’t help but marvel at how my life has turned out. Exactly two years ago I took the plunge into the unknown, the only lead I had was total dependence on God.

I’m not sure where you are in life, neither do I know if you are at cross-roads in making a life-changing-threatening-frightening decision. Please hear this from me, you’ll have the jitters, your heart beats can play the national anthem and you’ll be faced with lots of questions that you may begin to doubt yourself. But listen, even Moses who saw God’s awesomeness in the burning bush still needed a sign from God, even Gideon requested a sign from God twice “Then Gideon said to God, “If You will deliver Israel through me, as You have spoken, behold, I will put a fleece of wool on the threshing floor. If there is dew on the fleece only, and it is dry on all the ground, then I will know that You will deliver Israel through me, as You have spoken. And it was so. When he arose early the next morning and squeezed the fleece, he drained the dew from the fleece, a bowl full of water then Gideon said to God, “Do not let Your anger burn against me that I may speak once more; please let me make a test once more with the fleece, let it now be dry only on the fleece, and let there be dew on all the ground.“… Judges 6:36-39.

You are not alone, these men although they had heard from God were still freaked out at their assignments. Beyond what everyone says, you’ll be solely responsible for your decision. A few questions to guide you, what is your reason, what is your motive, what inspired you and above all commit it into God’s hands. I can’t say what will happen to me tomorrow but I choose to believe my steps are ordered, I may not see the entire road map for my life, I may not even know where to place my feet next but I’m learning to listen to the promptings of that Still-small voice. So like my spa session your decision-making may not be immediately gratifying but keep the big picture in mind, you’ll feel better and more fulfilled at the end.

Loads of Love

JMAD.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It will hurt, but you will feel better after

  1. Beautiful. Thank you for stopping by

  2. E' says:

    This!!!!!!!
    EVERYTHING

  3. Pingback: What do you want? | JmadReflects

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

