Mum always says…

There’s something about mothers and proverbs. You’ll probably relate to this if you were raised by a Nigerian mother. While growing up we had the family tradition of morning devotion – a time set aside usually around 6 – 7 a.m to sing praises, study the Bible and pray together. Some days were not particularly funny especially when your sleep had to be interrupted. Most times it had a routine, you know we were close to the end when we get to Bible study… But it’s not always the case cos’ my mum will start a sermon and 8 out of 10 times she will end with these words ‘you have a name to protect’. In other words whatever you decide to do, remember the name you’re representing. Some how those six words have stuck with me even when I’m miles away from home.

As children we memorised a few Bible verses; Prov. 22:6 ‘train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old, he won’t depart from it‘ and the famous Psalm 23 ‘The Lord is my shepherd’. Many of us can recite the entire chapter off by heart. While studying it a while ago something struck me in the 3rd verse ‘… for His Name’s sake‘. That verse changed my perception of the Psalm and reminded me of how often we talk about God’s word and it profits us nothing cos we either fail to realise the power in it or it’s not mixed with faith.

When the psalmist says for His name sake he is simply referring to my mum’s six words ‘you have a name to protect’. Once you profess Jesus Christ as Lord, God has a name to protect. His name is on the line and He’s not in the habit of seeing His own experience shame. Ask the three Hebrew boys who were thrown in the furnace or Joseph who was put in prison. These people chose to honour God above any other thing. A sermon was preached some years ago ‘If you don’t bow, you won’t burn‘. You might have forsaken somethings in the past for the sake of the name of Jesus and you’re wondering if it was the right thing; seeing most of your peers who chose the ‘other’ path have moved on.

While i may never know what you had to let go but I’m definitely sure God knows and He’s reminding you today He hasn’t forgotten about you. He’s very proud of you, life is in phases and we were all created individually with distinct purposes. He makes all things beautiful in His time. Do not use the time zone of the world especially the time expectations of your family or friends. He has His reward with Him and what He gives is lasting. In a bid to get that promotion, contract, job, marriage partner (insert yours if it was omitted) don’t push for what you want and miss out on what you truly deserve. Wait for it, He’s too faithful to leave you all by yourself. When it comes you’ll be a display of God’s glory cos ifechukwunyediche (what God gives is different).

I hope this puts a smile on your face and gives you another reason to tag along with Jesus Christ. His team is the winning side. You might be reading this and saying you haven’t been associated with Jesus, well this is a good time to come to Him by saying this prayer. Dear Father i come to you in the name of Jesus and i ask for your forgiveness for not acknowledging Jesus as my saviour. I thank You for loving me so much that You let Your Son Jesus die on the cross for me and i now have eternal life through His resurrection. I belong to You and i surrender my life to You. Welcome to the family, join a community of Bible based believers to continue the fellowship. See you on the other side.

Loads of love
JMAD

N/B Ifechukwunyediche is an Igbo word

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mum always says…

  1. E' says:

    He makes all things beautiful in His time. Do not use the time zone of the world especially the time expectations of your family or friends…

    Quoting this in my next post ‘Who got you on lockdown?’

    Mehn!!! I am so ridiculously thankful to be rid of pressure. I just follow God, never man. Oh gosh!!! It don’t matter if you tumble upside up, you can’t pressure me. Living life on His terms alone ehn, nothing compares!!!

    • JMAD says:

      My dear it’s so true. I needed to remind myself and this keeps on resonating in my spirit I will keep you in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on Me. Some peace that’s unexplainable takes over.

  2. Adaobi Ejiogu says:

    Ah! I needed to hear this! Jioke thank you for sharing. Indeed, the world’s clock has got nothing on my Papa God. He’s always on time, never late. He really does make ALL things beautiful in His time, if we don’t give up.

  3. oluchee says:

    I had a smile on face when I got done reading this. Your words were powerful. Thank God for His love and grace

  4. Pingback: #Day 5; Unearthing my beliefs | JmadReflects

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

