#Imagine Nigeria, through the lens of Nana

NANAI was asked to write about the life I imagine in Nigeria. I always thought I will be prepared to write about this. I have always imagined that when the time comes for me to talk about how I want my Nigeria to look like, that I will know.

The Nigeria I imagine? I am not so sure anymore. When I was a kid, I imagined a Nigeria where I could understand everyone in their own language. A Pentecost Nigeria not the Babel I knew at the moment. A place where I could go into someone’s house without minding where they come from or what they eat

I grew up a bit and took a few trips and realized, Oh! There is a different world out there where there is steady light, the taps work, cars stop for people to pass, people cared about people, and hospitals were efficient. My desires changed, I began to imagine that world being replicated here in Nigeria. I thirsted for a change. I preached the gospel and began to change my ignorant ways starting from not throwing out trash out the window of a car. I got happier and kept preaching but I was not satisfied.

Why? Out of every 10 places I preached that change, I met 9 hungry people, 9 sad people, 9 people without hope or favours, 9 who have never imagined a better Nigeria, 9 who looked at me the way I looked at people I presumed privileged. Then I began to imagine a different Nigeria.

What if there is a Nigeria that provides equity to all its citizens? A Nigeria where everyone will be given a chance based on merit? A Nigeria where the citizens believe that things can work without nepotism? A Nigeria that inspires hope? I began to imagine all possibilities.

I got ideas, I penned them down as furiously as they came. I believed strongly that my imaginations set me apart. I imagined that my government needed my help. ‘Of course, they did not have ideas. Now I have it and they can implement it and all will be well again’ I said.

I took my ideas to my government. I sat down daily and waited patiently but all I saw was the secretaries with the currency notes and the courtesies to the givers. I left and never came back after the third week.

I am older and my imaginations fewer. I imagine a Nigeria where my children will feel safe to come home without looking over their shoulders. I imagine a Nigeria where the resources will be able to feed me, mine and yours without recourse to illegality. I imagine a Nigeria filled with trust for one another.

That is the Nigeria I imagine at the moment.

Nana Nwachukwu loves to read and practices law at her spare time. She is the current African Regional Representative of ITECHLaw Association.

***

Reading this just send shivers down my spine. I don’t know when Nigeria will get to the level Nana Imagines but I choose to be hopeful

This entry was posted in Humanitarian, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

