How late is late?

It’s amazing the kind of things that can spark up a conversation and even have the capacity to challenge your outlook to life. I was at the bus station this morning, in the midst of the cold, with my ear phones plugged into my ear and praying so hard for the bus to come. Not knowing the delay was for a purpose. A lady taps me and asks where I bought my bag from? I told her I didn’t buy it from here but somehow I went further to suggest other stores she could get some good ones from since she needed a bag that had compartments. Somehow she ends up asking me what course I was studying, and when I asked for hers she said Criminal Justice as an Undergraduate. Now I was shocked cos’ she’s a woman I mean like a Mother. I was interested and I asked her, this shouldn’t be her first degree and she says No, she’s been working for a while but needed to pursue this but that’s not the bombshell, her 19 year old son is studying law as an undergraduate in another city. WHAT!!!. She shares lecture notes with him sometimes and she told me she always told him she’ll go back to school at the same time with him. She showed me her adorable 6ft4In son and I got teary-eyed. Her son’s friends often tease him, that if they were a bit older, they would have made a pass at his mom. Hey! I don’t blame them, did I mention she’s Jamaican although I thought she was a Nigerian; am I the only one who thinks Jamaicans may just be related to Nigerians.

When she got off the bus, it got me thinking and I kept on asking when “Is late really late”? We have dreamed of the future we want to see. Some of us have imagined starting up a food-chain business, writing books, running a marathon, taking that hike on a particular mountain, enrolling for a new course, setting up that consulting firm, the list is endless and please feel free to insert yours. Truth is, it’s pretty scary but like I always say it’s better to have tried and failed (which is not always the case) than never to have tried at all. I do hope I can have an interview with the woman I met and probably let us know how she managed to take such a decision at this stage in her life. (I’m sure you know we exchanged contact details, such inspirational people shouldn’t just walk through your life and disappear)

Late

This is a reminder, just in case you’ve buried those ideas. It’s about time you dug it up. Go ahead and look at it one more time. Life is what you make out of it, I asked a friend today and I’ll be asking you too ‘Are you the kind of person who fights for something or do you just wait for chance’? It’s another ‘Me-time’ to reappraise yourself. It’s not yet December but you can start now to do a stock-taking and see how far you’ve come with your aspirations.

LOADS OF LOVE

JMAD

Photo Credit : Google

This entry was posted in Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How late is late?

  1. Eche Moneke says:

    ‘Are you the kind of person who fights for something or do you just wait for chance?’ Inspiration for the month. Nice piece as always!

  2. E' says:

    Awwwwwwww I love d woman already. And u didn’t take a picture?
    U did Igbo geh

    • JMAD says:

      I trust you… nne oyi n’atu and we were on a bus but i’ve her number and should see her soon. Trust me she’s got some other likable traits.

  3. Pingback: #Imagine Jamaica, through the lens of Romea | JmadReflects

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

