When voodoo meets the Bible

We had just ended our lecture on Nationalism and Ethnicity; the lecturer did an amazing job especially when he brought up the topic of voodoo as it relates to Africa. My course mate kept on hammering on how he felt naked after the topic (this had to do with the lecturer been British yet knowing so much about voodoo). This led to a long conversation with some other course-mates; apparently this particular guy is a traditionalist and he doesn’t hide the fact that he has used voodoo or juju as he called it but he said they are all African tradition and there is the good and the bad one. He went on to say he had used the good one and somehow he asked what I believed in and I told him I believe in Jesus (I needed this emphasis for a reason, I’ll let you know soon) and I’m a Christian and he goes, how can you believe the bible when you are not sure of who wrote it. This went on for a while with our number increasing.

Tweety[1]

Before my relocation to the new place, I got some really funny and good advice but the one that stood out to me was this, ‘When you go there and you mention you worship God, be specific on the God you serve’. We live in a world where everyone lays claim to religion, in fact religion is part of who we are as human-beings, even an Atheist who doesn’t believe in God indirectly acknowledges His existence. The question is who do you believe in?

A debate was put up by a Muslim Association on the question ‘Who is Jesus’. My friend who attended said the person representing the Christian association wasn’t very vibrant, while I was thinking he probably didn’t do his research well, my friend said NO! That it’s simple; look for someone on a wheel chair, and in the name of Jesus ask him to walk (do I hear someone praying in the Spirit). That singular act explains who Jesus is… and it got me thinking. This shouldn’t be wishful thinking, this is supposed to be who we are as Christians on earth, where we decree things and they happen. After all the God we profess is a speaking God, I don’t blame those who brought up the Big Bang theory. In the movie ‘God’s not dead’ the student defending God said if the theory holds that there was a big explosion and we all came into existence, then maybe they are not totally wrong cos imagine God the Almighty One who speaks to raging storms and they become still, imagine God the One who divided the Red Sea and it stood on both sides, yes Imagine that God saying ‘let there be’ wont there be a big bang.

I didn’t bring up points with my course-mate why I thought he should become a Christian, I told him just like Bishop T.D. Jakes said, whoever or whatever you make your God; make sure that God can heal, protect and above all save you. The truth is people like that make great evangelist once they have an encounter with God, which is my prayer for him. Remember we live in a liberal world hence we ought to respect people’s choices especially when it has to do with religion. Your job is to represent the God you serve in your way of life and let it do the entire preaching.

Loads of Love

JMAD

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When voodoo meets the Bible

  1. tessadoghor says:

    Praying for him would help.
    When he finally gives his life to Christ, even though he may never know, God would reward you.

    I know a good number of people no one would expect to be born again and they are born again today.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

