Are we still playing Church?

Accidents in Abuja are usually crazy; I don’t know if the good roads have become a curse. Cars now fly in town, from seeing a car fly off Berger Bridge to another one using Apo round-about as the run-way to take off. In all of this chaos be sure to see lots of people who become analysers/sympathisers. On my way out yesterday in a taxi I noticed a cluster of people as well as parked cars, I didn’t need a soothsayer to tell me it was an accident. The strangest thing happened when the driver pulled over to the side and when I said Oga dey go now he said I should come down that the affected driver is his brother. This guy didn’t even think of the money he will lose all he knew was an aboki brother needed help. This got me thinking of my Christian walk, how often have I stopped to help a wounded soldier.

For a while now I’ve been questioning some things I’ve observed in our local churches. At some point I thought something was wrong with me but all those lingering thoughts in my heart were justified with a few messages I listened to. During our weekly service on Friday, we basically spent the entire time praying for Nigeria but my heart was really burdened when we were asked to pray for the church.

Division

If you are a regular visitor on this blog, you’ll know my stance on the Church; you can read up Audience of One. We were encouraged to look for a message by Pastor Emmanuel Bosun on ‘Exposing the truth of Nigeria’ he sure doesn’t ring a bell. He’s currently a member of the National Confab. Please I beg of you, if you are a Nigerian search for his message on You-Tube. Remember in this age of information, ignorance is a choice.

I won’t bore you with the entire message but I need to scream it really loud it’s time we killed the enemy known as division in the Church. We gather every Sunday to pray down Heaven and even rain fire and brimstone on our ‘enemies’. Forgetting the worst enemy to fight is the enemy within. We’re supposed to be known first, as Christians before the names of our Churches rather we’ve put the cart before the horse.  We’re all known by our beautiful church names, it’s more of a class thing. If you want pretty ladies go to this church, if you want deliverance or amazing praise and worship then there’s a perfect church for it.

While we are playing Church the devil is sowing seeds of discord among the Churches. You can’t marry outside your church or receive the Holy Communion and so on. My brethren I beseech you by the mercies of God let’s get rid of this baby monster growing. I hear Turkey was once a Christian Nation but as I speak it is 99.8% Muslim with 0.2% Christians and Jews. Can’t we see we are no longer practising what the early Christians did, they all shared everything together and I’m sure they shared the hard times too.

We need to come together and fight the enemy, Nigeria belongs to the Lord. We are crying cos’ Boko Haram is killing our brothers and sisters but if we don’t wake up soon, we’ll one day realise they’ve taken over Nigeria and someone will have to tell our kids who can’t find any church again that there was a time we had more than one church on a street. For the records, this post is written to everyone who identifies with the Church regardless of your order of service.

Loads of Love.

JMAD

N/B Aboki – An hausa word for friend .

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Are we still playing Church?

  1. sophy says:

    Very true. If only we can let the self die then we can live as one.

  2. Pingback: Are we still playing Church? | Christians Anonymous

  3. Ebuka says:

    Well said….. So long as we refuse to unite as one, our fate will be similar to those of the tower of Babel. I pray God has mercy and intervenes.The body of Christ is not divided

  4. Word! Been talking about this for the past week with a friend…smh…
    erm..by the way…when we take off the old clothes…do we stay naked? #jstasking

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

