Samsung Galaxy S4; another case of ignorance

Ignorance 3

I have observed over the years, there are certain traditions in families. I have never received a surprise Birthday gift from my dad before cos’ he always asked what I wanted. I often teased him with outrageous gifts but in the midst of all that he ends up giving me a gift . My request last year was a Samsung Galaxy S4. Fast forward July this year; the phone fell from my hand and the screen cracked. I felt a little sad but when I remembered I had a 24 months warranty, some joy broke out on my face.  But that joy was shortlived when I went to a Samsung office and was told the phone wasn’t registered. Apparently I was supposed to send a code to a particular number but I didn’t cos I had no idea of it. The bombshell came when I learnt I needed to pay N30,000.00 to change the screen. Yes, the amount can buy another phone but that wasn’t the main issue rather I already had a warranty to replace it without any extra cost but the lack of information robbed me of this service.

Isn’t it like our daily walk on earth? Many of us have missed out lots of opportunities cos’ of ignorance or lack of information. On Friday last week a hasttag #SaltyFriday was generated on twitter after a rumour making the rounds advised everyone to bathe with salt and drink it too all in the name of fighting the Ebola Virus. Story has it that 2 people were confirmed dead and more than a dozen hospitalised. I think if there’s anything we should hate, it is IGNORANCE.

Ignorance 2

I hear some Churches have stopped observing the sign of peace (where they have to shake each other just before the Communion). My heart bled not cos of what was said but we’ve gotten so used to certain things and somehow we have missed out the message. This goes back to information. What exactly is the Holy Communion? Is it just another ritual we observe every Sunday, or a sign we have attained a particular age. Do we really know what it symbolises?

We are living in crazy times now and what will set you apart is the information you have. A period came when there were plagues in Egypt but it never came upon the Israelites and even when the spirit of death passed through the land, it never touched anyone who lived in a house with a blood of a lamb on its lintel. How much more the Blood of Jesus we profess to receive at Communion. Bishop T.D. Jakes says ‘whoever you make Lord over your life, be sure you can be healed or saved by that God’ The Church needs a revival, we need to stop playing church. Let us go back to our closest and seek God for ourselves beyond who our Pastors profess. When the devil comes at you and he’ll definitely come cos’ he hates the Children of God, you can’t call on the God of your Pastor. C’mon!!! A fire incidence happened close to my house and the woman kept on calling on the God of our pastor, is she saying she doesn’t know that God.

Ignorance

My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge’ Hosea 4:6. In my case ‘My child JMAD lost some money for lack of knowledge’. Question is, what have you lost? We can’t continue like this, they that know their God shall do mighty exploits. Let the Church arise and take her rightful place and I’m not referring to your local church rather you and me.

LOADS OF LOVE.

JMAD

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Samsung Galaxy S4; another case of ignorance

  1. Love this post, knowledge really is key.

  2. Tochi Okafor says:

    Good piece! As you said, in the age of information boom or even overload, ignorance is a choice. Its worrisome that our younger generation is securing 75% failure in waec (as released day before yesterday by Waec) in the 21st century with galaxy s5 and other powerful gadgets in their palms available for learning. Thanks for sharing Jmad.

  3. Jenny says:

    Classic post and wake up call! Thanks CJ

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

