Introducing Abuja Colour

Where ever ladies gather, be sure to experience some form of drama especially when it’s in a salon. My last visit got me laughing real hard and re-iterated what a colleague had told me a while ago. In between I think I prefer male stylist to the females, there’s just something about a man making your hair. Anyway while my hair was being done the other guy starts to gist the lady how he was upset with the gift a customer bought for him when she travelled abroad, he told her he would have preferred a bleaching cream. Now this got me interested, did I mention he’s a skin expert and I just kept on looking at his skin (gist for another day). The lady starts to mention other skin experts in town, who make double cos’ when they recommend the cream, the lady comes back with a problem of burnt skin hence another recommendation.

A new colour known as Abuja Colour has been discovered, if you ask me, it should be included in Guinness World Book of Records. A little history digression, Abuja is the Capital of Nigeria with approximately 170 million people, Nigeria is found in the West of Africa and Africa is one of the 7 continents of the world cos someone somewhere still thinks Africa is a state. I’m pretty sure by now you know what Abuja Colour is but for the benefit of those who don’t know, it’s simply light-skinned ladies, I mean really white. It has become the new cool; almost everyone wants to be fair. I saw a lady the other day who was a half caste but hers is a special type, her face was really white but her hands and feet were black. When did we get to this? The lady who the stylist was talking to, said something really remarkable (I think she deals on cosmetics and body care products), the manufacturer of some of the products (whitening cream) she sells said a person isn’t supposed to use more than 3 bottles the whole of their lifetime cos of the effect on the skin leading to cancer… WHAAAATTTT!!!

ADOO™ [1]

A few months ago People Magazine named Lupita Nyong’o cast of 12 years a slave, 2014 World’s Most Beautiful Woman. Some people felt she wasn’t the best choice but it was really beyond physical beauty and more of her confidence in her skin. In her speech where she won the Essence Magazine Black Women in Hollywood Breakthrough Performance Award, she said she wished she was fairer as a teenager until she came across Alek Wek a black model who was on so many magazines and billboard. Her mom told her ‘You can’t eat beauty; it doesn’t feed you cos you can’t rely on how you look to sustain you’. She ended by saying she hopes everyone viewing her on their screen can feel the validation of their external beauty but also get to the deeper business of being beautiful inside which has no shade of beauty.

Skin 3

Are fair ladies beautiful? Yes but it doesn’t mean black or brown skin ladies ain’t beautiful too. Isn’t it amazing to see people go out on the beach to get sun-tanned while those who have the exact skin colour want to change theirs? I’m really wondering what will make me drop my brown skin or like my friend will call it toast bread colour for a lighter one.  You don’t have to depend on the tone of your skin to validate your beauty. I won’t bore you with the health implication of skin whitening but a little reminder you are beautiful just the way you are.

Bruno Mars has a lil’ something to say to the ladies

When I compliment her she won’t believe me
And it’s so, it’s so
Sad to think that she don’t see what I see
But every time she asks me, “Do I look okay?”
I say,
When I see your face 
There’s not a thing that I would change
‘Cause you’re amazing 
Just the way you are

LOADS OF LOVE

JMAD

This entry was posted in Life, Personality, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Introducing Abuja Colour

  1. E' says:

    I am too hopeful kai
    When I saw the title and the opening line of ladies gathering, I thought Abuja Colours was an all lady Christian/social gathering you or some sensible person was starting. See how I rushed to open the email link.
    Kai Eziaha
    Looool at Abuja colour.
    Abuja z an interesting city. I can write a book. And to think I’ve only been here under two months. Chai. I have my work cut out for me. #Ministry
    Btw I have missed you girl
    You should totally come for our relationship seminar.
    Love
    E’

    • JMAD says:

      Lol…… interesting to knw it caught your attention. Abuja is really a funny place it can really make for a book.
      Yea missed you too….. I’ll work on the invite dear.
      Big bear hug

  2. JMAD says:

    Awwww dear your comment just made me smile @vavavoom peculiarity. Oh dear, imagine a lady who’s confident in her skin first, tell me who can bring her down with the talk of skin tone. Thanks a lot for your input.

  3. signetseal says:

    Chai! How I enjoyed reading this. My Nigerian beautiful & sexy-licious sisters, if I may add, you are all wonderfully made & no skin cream can change that. Luxuriate in your skin texture & enjoy that vavavoom peculiarity & quality that you’ve been divinely given, add that Lupita confidence & men will take a bow when they see you step out breezily. Did I mention that I so loved this article! 🙂

  4. Sophy says:

    I wish WordPress had a ‘like’ button, I would’ve liked all comments! Very fresh piece on a timeless topic. I don’t know what else people want to hear before they stop falling victims to this ugly trend. BTW, it’s not only an Abuja thing, but everywhere at least in this nation – I can vividly remember the special pink color of ‘Mkpani’ boys – lol. That’s a very remote village in Cross River, where I did my Youth Service.

    • JMAD says:

      Which one is ‘Mkpani’ boys again? My dear the trend is really eating deep into our nation. I think beyond the many talks of the implications, we owe ourselves the truth.

  5. Femmetotale says:

    hehehehehehe
    I’m just getting a mental picture of a lady who bleached till she turned, white, green, blue, red and black again. I sorry for them! 😀

    • JMAD says:

      My dear you don’t have to imagine, just look around you to find a typical example. I just feel sorry for the guys who settle for ‘the fair ladies’ but end up seeing the the true colour in the morning…..

  6. First off I would like to say great blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and
    clear your mind before writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out
    there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it
    just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally
    lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any
    suggestions or tips? Cheers!

    • JMAD says:

      Thanks for the comment. i usually don’t have an ideal time, i just let it flow and after i rearrange it either on paper or on a computer.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

