Orpah Winfrey; something you may not know

So what’s going through your mind about Oprah, look back at the title of this post, have you seen it… still wondering, let me help you out, the spelling of Orpah instead of Oprah, and no it wasn’t a mistake. Orpah is her actual name but people mispronounced it, over time she stuck with Oprah and the whole world knows her by that name.

Oprah

I remember sometime last year a lady in a team I was working with always got upset with anyone who pronounced or spelt her name wrongly, I didn’t quite get her, to me it was just a name but down the road I realised it’s not just a name. Back home with my family, whenever it was time for family devotion be sure to have a long sermon if my mum was anchoring, no matter the topic she preached on be sure to hear this phrase ‘you have a name to protect’. I have left the house and it keeps ringing in my ears.

Going through the Bible a lot of names were changed, Abram to Abraham, Sarai to Sarah, Jacob to Israel and many others. On the surface it’s just a few letters but the change of names changed their lives forever. What does your name represent? In my local church during Child Dedication, the Pastor will always ask the father of the child what will this child be called and when the father responds, he goes further and asks what the name means (it’s usually a funny sight if the father doesn’t know the meaning of the name) but the Pastor isn’t just asking cos he wants to know the name, he uses that name and the meaning to pray for the child.

Name

We often forget our names go beyond what is written on our certificates, what do people say you are? Jesus asked Peter this simple but profound question who do people say I am? What are you known for? How do people describe you? When we are gone our names will remain but this time an adjective will be added, you could hear names like corrupt ….. , loving…… etc. A son of a former Head of State took to Social Media to respond to articles calling his late father corrupt but his response erupted more outburst from people. Truth is we will never ever have the ability to change people’s perception when we are gone; we can only live and act right now while we are still living.

A good name is better than riches, when translated in my dialect it means Eziahakaego speaking of Eziaha, I had some fabulous ladies (Eziaha, Femmetotale and Oma) come over for lunch, did I mention they are bloggers, amazing writers, the icing on the cake was the fact they all have an amazing relationship with God, we had lots of laughter, especially putting Eziaha on the spot on marriage and some convos that will be TMI. I’ve always had lots of male friends and having an engineering background didn’t help either but it felt really good chilling with these amazing ladies. I look forward to more hook-ups.

PhotoGrid_1399305015584

Can we all make the decision to become conscious of the lives we are living; remember we live to leave a legacy. Let’s not set the stage for our children and their children to fight wars to defend our names when we are gone, may our names make way for them.

LOADS OF LOVE

JMAD

N/B I’m sure you are aware of the tragedy of the missing girls in #Chibok the North-Eastern part of Nigeria, there’s a whole lot of misconception on the exact number, whether they are 3 or over 200, I just pray for their safety, I pray for wisdom on the parts of our leaders to take appropriate action, I pray for the boldness upon anyone who has useful information to speak up, I pray for strength for the affected families and I pray for peace in Nigeria. #BringBackOurGirls

Tears

This entry was posted in Humanitarian, Personality, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orpah Winfrey; something you may not know

  1. Chiatula E.T says:

    Hiya, this is so true. Maybe its my perculiarity that drives me, but I abosultely almost always check meaning of names every week just so I’ll know. But it signifies something that we all should embrace.

    • JMAD says:

      My dear, it’s really important. I had to give out one of the names I had stored up for my kid to my baby bro lol. I’m sure I’ll get a replacement.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

