Rooting for the devils; just believe

The past weekend was really fun in some way; some activities entered my book of firsts while some got me laughing real hard. I ended it by spending the evening with a family I respect so much. Here’s the funny part I’ve always seen my aunt as really prim and proper just picture an image of the Queen of England (now you get my drift). I had heard she loves football but never really seen her watching any of the matches until yesterday. OMG!!! She was screaming and jumping up, you have no idea how the sight felt. She’s a Man Utd fan but was rooting for Wigan to beat Man City, she already told her 8 year old daughter and 6 year old son to start praying for Wigan, for some funny reason her daughter took to her side while her son said no, and even prophesied an 89th minute goal by Man City. We all know how inquisitive kids can be, her daughter asked why and she said Man City is our enemy and we are the Red Devils, the little girl started binding and casting when she heard devil (I don’t blame her at all) well her mum had to explain what she meant. While she was rooting for Wigan (which was indirectly for Man Utd) she told her husband just BELIEVE, incidentally it’s the slogan for Wigan and it felt ironic but at the same time appropriate for the game.

Red Devils

It felt ironic cos the devil always comes to counter what we believe as Christians  isn’t it why the temptation of Jesus was tied to His belief as the Son of God. We are one month away from the end of the first quarter of the year; some of us have started off with the plans we made for the year, some are in the pipeline while others are scared to start off cos the plans look overwhelming. I went through a similar phase recently, I had this thought of starting off a little fellowship in my office but it had never been done before I was going to be the pioneer and I was scared so I shoved it aside. I’ve been serving in the Youth Church for over 16 months; recently I was asked to join the teaching department. I was excited but after our training I was scared (whatever I said to them had the potential of affecting their lives), my heart probably sang the national anthem from the beatings on Saturday night. I finally got to class and was fidgeting, gave out my Bible to a student who didn’t have and when I tried to unlock my phone to use the Bible I entered in wrong password twice cos my hands were shaking *smh.

keep-calm-and-believe-in-god-18

In the midst of all that I kept on reminding myself it wasn’t about me rather about God and whoever He calls He definitely equips the person, after a few minutes I was relaxed and the class was interactive and did I mention we had our first fellowship in the office on Friday. You know the devil’s tool is doubt, many of us have amazing ideas but we are scared to step out. It may not be starting a fellowship, it could be business, furthering your education, starting a school/NGO/Skills Centre, applying for contracts worth millions etc and we all get stuck in planning without execution. When I stood before those young people the devil kept on throwing in doubts, will I be able to pass any message to them, will they understand me since I talk fast, what if I’m asked a question and I don’t have the answer, but I remembered it wasn’t about me. Truth is I’m still learning I don’t even have the answers to all of life’s questions but I choose to trust God to come through for me every step of the way.

While rooting out the devil from our plans we have to believe God and trust Him. Are there plans you made and they look way too big for you, you’ve tucked the idea under all your books in fact you’ve buried it, here’s a little advise so long as it’s a good plan you’ve got to go dig it up and start again. You may have to go back to the drawing board to re-strategize, we were not created to just exist, don’t be another world population statistics, you were created for more. Question is, what is your goal, if the plan doesn’t work, change the plan with the goal still in perspective.

N/B: I enjoyed the game on Sunday and I’m thinking of the club to join although I already have an Arsenal JMAD crested jersey at home, so I’m open to recommendation.

LOADS OF LOVE.

 JMAD

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rooting for the devils; just believe

  1. E' says:

    You know you gotta be with the Blues… Chelsea yo. Or just do Man city.
    Arsenal? No comment.
    Or you go Spanish and do Real Madrid.
    On to the koko…
    Go Jmad Go Jmad!!!
    Forget the devil. Loser. Ignotre him and shine for Christ my love
    I am rootng for you
    Good thing you got the memo… It is not about you and will never be.
    So even when you slip, understand that he works through even your imperfections and still los you perfectly.
    What is that we say about treasure in earthen vessels?
    I see you smile…
    Oya keep firing the office fellowship…
    Give the devil plenty to wince about
    Aye aye!!!
    Muah
    E’

    • JMAD says:

      Oh my charmer you definitely made me smile. Thanks dear, He definitely works through my imperfections. I’ve taken note of the recommendation *wink wink*

  2. E' says:

    Meanwhile, I was happy city lost to Wigan AGAIN!!! Let the cups go round a beg. And I hope that is the last they win this season.
    As for the red devils, DT hz bcm dia prayers these days. Instead of them to focus on winning, they are calculating who will lose so they will climb… Sorry case, the Once lions of the footbal tribe. I can’t lie, I am happy they are doing badly. Aku m z a manu fan and u have no idea how much thrill I get from teasing him.
    I love my pastors ooo and obey them but that one where they say u gotta support his club, whosai!!! And lose all this free teasing I get to do every weekend?
    Me leave blues for devils? Lailai
    Ehn if Mourinho I love becomes their coach which will NEVER HAPPEN
    hehehehehehe

    • JMAD says:

      OMG!!! I’m in the office and you’re making me laugh this hard. Your chelsea love no reach where Aku m dey shey, God is watching you seriously lol

      • E' says:

        Loooool
        Plus Jesus is in the BLUE skies. Why would I leave Jesus and support devils whether red or losing…?
        You sef check am na

      • JMAD says:

        Hahaha but errrrmmmm there’s this thing of the Blues been …. (before i receive virtual missiles) never mind.

      • E' says:

        Loooool. Not sure what u are talking about ooo. But all I know is that I BLEED BLUE

  3. 1 + The One says:

    Man U all the wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!! Join the best team in the world! Don’t listen to E, Man U is the way forward!! haha
    I love this post and thanks for the encouragement.. I have discovered that launching out is one of the most frightening things and it’s important to know that God’s backing should be enough assurance/boost to just do it! May God help us!
    And well done on the fellowship, it’s a brilliant idea. More grace in Jesus name xx

    • JMAD says:

      Hahaha. Me I like good looking people and I think Man U has a line up good looking players (did I just say that). Yea the launching out is really frightening but thank God for His grace. Dont mind E.

  4. Your style is very unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I
    will just bookmark this page.

  5. That is very interesting, You are an overly professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to in search of extra of your magnificent
    post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  6. I quite like looking through an article that will make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  7. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I’ve found It positively useful and it has helped me out loads.
    I’m hoping to contribute & help other users like its aided me.

    Good job.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

