The journey to the top

When was the last time you did something for the first time? People often ask me what I do for fun, at the end of the day some end up saying it’s a boring life I have but I knew my view of fun was the unconventional type. I recently asked a friend Kolo on mountaineering some weeks back and he threw it open on Twitter; he did some research on the mountains in town even climbed some on his own.

The adrenaline rush just from the thought alone was extremely high, a few people turned up and we moved from knowing ourselves online to offline at least it’s not a case of @Royalamebo scam.  We were scheduled to meet at 7 a.m. after a little delay we headed off feeling all fly only to be stopped at the entrance. I never knew people own rocks in Abuja, like seriously… the man said we didn’t inform him before coming; we should come back later in the evening to discuss our plans with him *smh.  Our spirits were already getting dampened but Kolo suggested another mountain. I’m extremely glad we went on this adventure. Let me let the picture tell a better story.

20131221_082946

In high spirits

20131221_083100

Waiting for Kolo, Oma (L), Chika (R)

20131221_083222

First site we visited

20131221_083331

From Left Me, Attahiru, Chika, Segun, Kolo. We were feeling like tourist… this was just before we were evicted for “trespassing”.

20131221_090957

The excitement of finding another site……

20131221_091008

You can tell I was pretty excited

20131221_090702

Oh yea, we made it … that’s what the picture says

20131221_090525

More laughter

20131221_090711

Beautiful view of Abuja

20131221_090916

How can a selfie be missing from the many shots?

20131221_091409

The climax

20131221_091656

Started at the bottom and here we are….. at the TOP!!!

20131221_092015

Caption this

20131221_091849

Jabi Lake behind

20131221_092024

Oma and I were smiling, but we couldn’t get to the edge

20131221_092200

Kolo and Segun went a step further, my adventurous spirit couldn’t go beyond the rocks….. maybe next time

20131221_100222

On our way down

20131221_091145

She’ll definitely be a good brand ambassador for tooth-paste

20131221_092334

Boss lady

20131221_100025

We felt like kids here…. our journey to the bottom

20131221_083318

Keep walking

 

I hope you enjoyed the story told by the pictures; we are planning another trip, probably to Gurara Falls or some other mountain. We keep on procrastinating, giving excuses why we can’t do something new. Truth is, there’s never a perfect time, the year is just starting and you may have made awesome plans which is very good but I hope you can make out time to have fun and do exciting things. You don’t have to own a bank or save up to go to Malta or the Bahamas (Although it will be fun places), look around you and you’ll definitely find out there’s something you can do alone or with people that will put not just a smile but laughter on your face.

Loads of Love

JMAD

N/B : This post was scheduled for the end of last year but events took over but I had to stay true to my words….

This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The journey to the top

  1. sophy says:

    hmmmmmmmm……..unfortunately, am sadly faraway from abuja. Well you are obviously catching your fun.

  2. 1 + The One says:

    Wow! Well done.. very gut-sy of you.. And I admire your sense of adventure and trying something new! I should probably borrow a leaf from you xx

    • JMAD says:

      Oh yea, the leaf is worthy of borrowing. We’ve got one shot at life, guess it’s important we maximise it. I’ll be looking forward to your own experience

  3. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  4. Charmain says:

    It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of
    information. I’m satisfied that you just shared this useful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Michal says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz answer back as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    many thanks

    • JMAD says:

      Thanks Michal for your kind words. Yes I created it myself using the wordpress platform. It just takes a little study and you’ll come up with your own website. All the best.

  6. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed
    reading it, you will be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back later in life.
    I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice morning!

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

