The journey of 2013 – Safs’ story

Safs is the kind of person you sit at her feet to learn how to speak good english. She’s got a good command of english; I wish this was a video post. Enough of me.

image

My name is Safiya Akau, Media Officer for Oxfam, Nigeria. A TV Documentary Producer, loves reading, travelling and meeting people. Been in the media world for over 15 years. Walks by faith and not sight, because all one has to do is believe and leave the rest to God.

A year of mind boggling and shocking events that went swiftly, like we went through it in minutes. I can’t just believe we have reached the end of the year but I’m grateful to see the end. Its been a year of God being on point when I least expected Him.

Yeah, there were many plans, hopes and wishes but God did just what He felt was good for me and I am grateful. One of the most important aspect of the things I’m thankful for, is being SINGLE. Shocking right? Well, I realized that there is a reason for that and I wouldn’t have pulled through magnificently without being the single He wanted me to be! Yep, because I thought by now I should be in this sizzling romantic and reaching the aisle relationship but God says not yet. Its been a peaceful year without some ‘tug of war’, lol. You know what I mean.

Special moments! Sure there were, too numerous to count but the most importantly was traveling and returning in one piece, especially by Air. So many wishes and desires but only the ones He said YES to came to pass.

However, the shocking events were realizing that those you call ‘MUST friends’ are actually ‘RUST FRIENDS’. Meaning: Must friend: a best friend, a member of your inner circle, a person you count on when something big happens in your life and Rust friend: a person you’ve known for a long, long time; you’re probably not going to get any closer to that person, unless something changes, but a part of your life.

I learnt that with so much pain but I’m glad it came to view. Now I know, lol.

 In all I am truly grateful to God for love, opportunities (great ones), family, wisdom and life.

Good bye 2013! Welcome Promising 2014!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

