The journey of 2013 – Nnamdi’s story

I met Nnamdi through his cousin who’s a friend of mine too. He’s a testimony personified, enjoy the ride.

image

All my life God made sure I was never late; I grew up fast and really tall. I got into secondary school early enough and finished just in time too. University was faster, not an extra second, no carry-overs, four years on the dot, I became one proud economist. Sooner than expected, I think I took it for granted and reduced the amount of praise I returned to God. I took away the attention from Him, I began to believe ‘I can do all things’ but I forgot it was through Christ. Ever merciful, He taught me lessons, I had to learn.

My name is Nwachuku Nnamdi, I am 24. Nigeria media track is where I work; an integrated media firm. I got in about three weeks ago as a staff writer. I passed out of the national service scheme in June 2013; I didn’t bother pushing to be retained where I served because obviously I don’t want to become a teacher (no offence to the profession). I came back to Abuja to find non-existent jobs, or at least, so I thought.

God took me through a walk to understand that life is beyond self-strength, it is beyond people we know or claim to know. All along, neither jobs I applied for nor had someone refer me ever worked. I walked round Abuja dropping CV’s in any building that looked like an office; be it government-related or otherwise. I am human, as such, I got depressed from the amount of rejection I suffered, later became frustrated but Baba was teaching that life is beyond what we can do or what we feel we can do, indeed, it is not by strength but by His loving and tender mercies, His grace kept me.

Kudos to beautiful hearts like that of Jmad, she amongst several others kept comforting and reminding me about God’s word. Sometimes even without knowing we tend to take God’s praise for ourselves. The air you breathe, each time you travel and get back unharmed, the food you eat, and the roof above your head. God taught me that in all things we should acknowledge His influence and grace. He indeed is a God for the people.

A blackberry broadcast got me my job. On the faithful morning, I was washing; I did not plan to come out that day. When all hope seemed lost, God showed indeed that he is God. I enjoyed supernatural favor during my interview, I was certain the job was mine especially as the questions bothered around my strengths.

I have learnt to trust God in all I do. I have learnt to return all praise to Him too. I have learnt to manage finances better, I have learnt to prioritize and plan more efficiently, and most importantly I have learnt to take all my problems to God.

600 words may not be enough to express myself, but I urge those of you reading this, whatever problem you are going through, God is not unaware. He knows and allows us to pass through phases. For Gold to be as appreciated as it is today, it has to undergo several heating processes to purify it; indeed, NO STORM, NO STORY! God is in control, hand the case over to Him and have faith. The fact that you are alive is already enough reason to give praise. I lost a family friend this year; several others suffered different losses too but we are alive. Tell me, why shouldn’t we give Him all the praise? Baba, I duff my hat for you. Kneeling and with a grateful heart, I say TUALE JESUS!

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The journey of 2013 – Nnamdi’s story

  1. Yeeeah sometimes God just slows us down to get our attention 🙂 Congrats on your new job bro!!!

  2. Akudo says:

    God’s grace is indeed sufficient for us. In our weakness His strength is made perfect and its true when we down to nothing, God is up to something…ALWAYS. Congrats.

  3. Kels says:

    Nice one Cuz. There’s always a lesson to learn from every experience

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

