The journey of 2013 – Ekene’s story

My twinnie takes us through her 2013 journey. Met Ekene in the University; people often confused us in school and we kept on wondering the resemblance but we just flowed with them and called ourselves twinnie. She’s one great lady I know, she inspires me a lot.

IMG_20131012_0011925[1]

So here we are, another year gone. Lesson learned: TIME flies, waits for no one. I remember a rhyme from Nursery school; tick says the clock, tick, and tick, what you have to do, do quickly. Well, 2013 has been a stalling year but major lessons have been learnt.  Some painful realizations too, self-discoveries, fights, feelings of sadness and depression, sometimes, loneliness (cos’ I haven’t hung out with friends). Loved ones have gone (rest in peace Sis. Florence Onyekachi Dominion).

Recently, I heard something that made me feel so good (wicked grin on my face…yes, I’m human) but it made it clear to me that beneath all the BBM picture charades, everyone has a struggle. Some are having extreme success, some are not. I resigned from a near perfect job. It opened my eyes to some truths: I have the potential and the power to do anything I want, and with passion, success is mine…Nigerian Affairs on Facebook is a testimony. It’s not about the money, its good if you have it because it facilitates plans on a smooth scale, after all, it answers all things, right? This year, being a mom, I see that the role of a mother isn’t child’s play.

You miss it and you have destroyed generations to come…so I constantly ask for the grace to be the mom God would want me to be…raise my little boy the way He would want, to His glory. This year, I have God-fessions that have helped me keep things in perspective…every day, I am getting better: spiritually, physically, mentally, socially, financially…I’ll fulfil destiny.

No intention to sound religious but the relationship I’ve come to enjoy with Him has made me know that He stays the same through the ages, His love never changes, there may be pain in the night, but joy comes in the morning. When oceans rage, I don’t have to be afraid, because I know He loves me. I still make mistakes, but He has new mercies for me every day, and all things work together for my good…even with the weird pimples. He’s the reason for this season, so Merry Christmas…and a pleasant 2014.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The journey of 2013 – Ekene’s story

  1. “beneath all the BBM picture charades, everyone has a struggle”….Sooooo true girl!

  2. If this could only capture 1% of the inspiration Ekene is!
    FYI: She is a mother anyone would be blessed to have.
    nice one Cj

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

