Audience of One

Stage Play

Many people miss their university days more but my case is different and I’m pretty sure there are more people like me. Oh! How much I miss my days in Federal Government Girls’ College Owerri popularly called Feddy Owerri. I had so much fun in that school, the punishments, the way we all had to learn to be doctors for asthmatic patients all in a bid to avoid some school activities, the different sports and club activities. We equally had music and drama competitions between the various dormitories. I can’t remember singing but I participated in the drama; I didn’t act but I read the prologue. The competition took place in Pink house because they had a stage in their quadrangle, I was nervous when Purple house was called; the sound of a pin could be heard everyone’s eyes was fixed on the stage, waiting for the curtain to be drawn open to reveal the action waiting to happen. The audience all looked out for the person giving the intro.

Isn’t this like our Christian walk on earth, we are the audience all seated in the big auditorium and looking to Jesus who is constantly preparing our mind for what lies behind the curtain of life. Back in school everyone coming to Pink house all came to watch the drama regardless of who won. I have observed over the years, the dividing line found in Christianity through the church system. A church starts and before you know it there’s a break-away and most of the time it happens with a fight (may not be physical but verbal and often results in members becoming enemies). What’s really going on? I can’t receive The Holy Communion in your church because I’m not a card-carrying member, I can’t marry outside my church, I stop to give you a lift because I’m headed in your direction but when I hear you’re going to another church I zoom off, we’ve more than one church in a building; on Sunday there’s so much confusion during praise and worship.

What exactly did Jesus come for? A similar episode played out in the Bible 1st Corinthians 3 vs 4 – 9. For when one says, “I follow Paul,” and another, “I follow Apollos,” are you not mere human beings? Who is Apollos? And who is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe—as the Lord has assigned to each his task. I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow. So neither the one who plants nor the one who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. The one who plants and the one who waters have one purpose, and they will each be rewarded according to their own labor. For we are co-workers in God’s service; you are God’s field, God’s building.

Can we go back to having one purpose? A family that is divided cannot fight effectively outside. Our purpose is to reconcile the world back to God through our acts of love, I keep on asking if I wasn’t born a Christian would I want to be a Christian with all the fights and bickering happening. If it’s not what my pastor said, it’s what my church said forgetting we will all stand alone on the last day with all our church names stripped off. It’s an audience of ONE, no divisions just glorify God, not man or the church.

LOADS OF LOVE.

JMAD.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Audience of One

  1. “A family that is divided cannot fight effectively outside. It’s an audience of ONE, no divisions just glorify God, not man or the church.” This article clearly shows each side of the issues you’ve raised & many questions that many of us sweep under the carpet. Thanks for sharing this truth.

  2. Femmetotale says:

    Beautiful one, JMAD! We seem to have forgotten that it’s an audience of one and that one is not any of we humans. The way we claim spiritual superiority is just an expression of pride in ourselves and the bible warns against this. If we all could just direct our gazes back to the ONE who it is all about I’m sure we’ll have more unity in the church. For now I don’t care what church says they have the divine mandate from God or which MOG has the most direct link with God. I’m simply looking up to Jesus the author and finisher of my faith.

  3. Inthe... says:

    Preach!!! One family, one savior, one God!

  4. Pingback: Are we still playing Church? | JmadReflects

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

