Thanksgiving……

Over the past One month I’ve had to travel by air to three different locations, over time I observed I hardly paid attention to the air hostess whenever she went through the safety instructions. I usually read a book, flipped through a magazine or just took a good position to sleep; most of the time I didn’t say the usual prayer of protection. Somehow in my sub-conscious I had gotten used to the safety instructions and I just believed I’ll land safely but It got me thinking and I asked myself did the passengers of the ill-fated Associated Airline reason like me. Nobody gets on a plane, car, bike, ship or whatever and thinks of death, the only thing on our mind most of the time is our destination. Often times we arrive in one piece, but over time we tend to take it for granted, forgetting many lives have been cut short by just taking a walk on the road or swimming in a pool.
I was in Lagos some months back, I had to take a Keke Marwa (Tricycle) and somehow I had a conversation with the driver (elderly man). He had worked with the Civil Service; travelled overseas a lot, for trainings and seminars. While we were having the conversation, I tried to bring the two pictures of a man boarding a plane to another man driving a Tricycle and it never seemed to merge in fact it looked like two parallel lines. I asked myself, what would have happened to this man to get so down as to depend on a Tricycle for survival but then again this is one of the hard lessons of life. Today you could be serving time in prison, the next day you’re made a Prime Minister.

Thankfful 1
I had a discussion with a friend who wasn’t quite satisfied with his job, meanwhile I know of someone who’s with the UN and wants to leave. Isn’t life funny? My charmer Eziaha did a 30-day post challenge of Thanksgiving (In btw she’s a Fabulous writer, you can check her out on http://www.eziaha.com), it was pretty amazing cos’ it made her see life differently; imagine thanking God for the ability to wash the bathroom (don’t roll your eyes, some slip in the bathroom and end up on a wheel-chair).

thank You
Truth is, we all want the best out of life, that’s good but let’s not get lost in our pursuit of the good things of life and miss out on the blessings on our path to fulfilment. I remember discussing with my uncle and I told him my salary was peanuts and he corrected me and said it was a blessing. Some of us are complaining of the size of our bed while someone out there just needs a mat, getting tired of having chicken and chips for lunch while inmates in Kuje Prison are rejoicing over receiving garri and sugar, the list goes on.
Can we just take out time to be thankful over those things we think are insignificant. Let’s develop an attitude of thanksgiving, everything may not add up all the time in fact there are times you may want to cave in but always remember it takes a crack to cause the rock to disintegrate. You’re making progress, you may not be where you want to be but you’ve definitely moved. Each day is a gift from God, seek to enjoy every moment.

LOADS OF  LOVE

JMAD

This entry was posted in Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thanksgiving……

  1. 1 + The One says:

    Thank you very much for this post.. Sometimes, I take things for granted and I only have to think back or see someone in a worse-off situation than mine for me to truly appreciate the fact that God is faithful and I am very blessed even in the midst of ‘lack’.

  2. Dina says:

    Having an atitude of gratitude is d ultimate. In every Negative thing that happened to us there is sometin to be thankful for in it. Thanks Dear for this wonderful note, hv been soooo ungrateful lately, thanks for bring my thoughts and mind back. God Bless U

    • JMAD says:

      I’m glad this post was helpful. I’m equally learning to be more grateful for life and all it brings with it. May God bless you too and thanks for stopping by.

  3. @eloxie says:

    Thanks for this post. There is always so much to be grateful for and ‘thanksgiving’ is an attitude that we can’t have too much of. Every day is a gift, and when we think that there will always be people doing better or not as well, we realise that the very breath we breathe is reason for gratitude. A living dog is better than a dead lion after all.

    • JMAD says:

      I love we can never have too much of thanksgiving. I’m going back to what I stopped, which is writing down what I’m grateful for each day in my journal. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. bethelli says:

    This article is so awesome! A couple of days in2 d month & God has already started speaking 2His beloved children as pertains d attitude He expects from us 2lead a victorious life. Not even a Biblical verse is mentioned yet it seems all d essenc of d Gospel is fully cover and yea accurately represented. But 2U Chijie O! daughter of The Eternal: may GRACE, PEACE, HOPE n MOUNTAIN moving FAITH abide with thee now n forthwith forever more! Amen …. this article is definitely a clarion call! Let d redeemed of God obey! Maranatha!

    • JMAD says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words.
      I’m humbled by them. I needed to be reminded of this attitude too. May God bless you too. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. orby says:

    nice write up…i really learnt from this

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

