A certain rich man I know

Mansion

There’s this man I came in contact with; the kind of guy every lady will want to bear his name, thriving business, lives in a mansion, cost of cleaning the entire house puts food, clothes and shelter over people, his dogs are what we call a cross-breed of lions and German Shepherds. I can’t forget his fleet of cars; his car park looks like a car exhibition gallery. The man exudes so much wealth, he needs no introduction when you meet him but on the other hand there was a poor man who lived on the streets and I mean literally. He converted the rich man’s gate to his home, I’m pretty sure they had tried to drive him out but he had some affinity for the gate, at least if he couldn’t afford a car, he could just stare at the ones that passed through the gate even if it meant letting the dogs lick his sores (wondering why they never beat him).

Beggar with sores
Guess you already know the man I’m referring to but for the benefit of everyone let’s look at the story again. Luke 16 vs 19 – 21 “There once was a rich man, expensively dressed in the latest fashions, wasting his days in conspicuous consumption. A poor man named Lazarus, covered with sores, had been dumped on his doorstep. All he lived for was to get a meal from scraps off the rich man’s table. His best friends were the dogs who came and licked his sores”. Lazarus eventually died as well as the rich man. Here’s the interesting part “Then he died, this poor man, and was taken up by the angels to the lap of Abraham. The rich man also died and was buried”. The story doesn’t end there He called out, “Father Abraham, mercy! Have mercy! Send Lazarus to dip his finger in water to cool my tongue. I’m in agony in this fire…..there is a huge chasm set between us so that no one can go from us to you even if he wanted to, nor can anyone cross over from you to us….. The rich man said, Then let me ask you, Father: Send him to the house of my father where I have five brothers, so he can tell them the score and warn them so they won’t end up here in this place of torment….Abraham answered, ‘They have Moses and the Prophets to tell them the score. Let them listen to them…Abraham replied, ‘If they won’t listen to Moses and the Prophets, they’re not going to be convinced by someone who rises from the dead
I found the last sentence intriguing. Someone actually rose from the dead; Jesus Christ and some still doubt it Matthew 28 vs 11 – 15 “They called a meeting of the religious leaders and came up with a plan: They took a large sum of money and gave it to the soldiers, bribing them to say, “His disciples came in the night and stole the body while we were sleeping.” They assured them, “If the governor hears about your sleeping on duty, we will make sure you don’t get blamed.” The soldiers took the bribe and did as they were told. That story, cooked up in the Jewish High Council, is still going around” The Bible is really complete.
You know, I love the good life; I want to go on vacations, have fun with my family, become the Secretary General of the United Nations, be a voice to be reckoned with, build schools and homes etc. Mehn!!! These are all great achievements, pretty sure you have your own aspirations but there’s something greater and I wonder, how often we think about it. There’s a hereafter. No matter how much we try to live in denial of it, someday we’ll exit this world and we’ll be faced with just two options and our choices would have been made by us while we walked this earth.

Heaven
Just in case you haven’t thought of it lately, I’ll remind you. There’s an awesome place, beyond description known as HEAVEN and there’s HELL that burns continuously with fire but there’s still utter darkness. My dear friend this isn’t written to scare you rather to remind you, in our quest for relevance and fulfilment let us not forget the greatest fulfilment of all time lies in where we will spend eternity. We all wish we knew the exact time, but it’s too bad we don’t. All we are left with is the instruction to live our lives in expectancy of Jesus Christ’s return. There have been prophesies of natural disasters and we’ve all witnessed it.
Please hear me; this isn’t about religion or denomination. Don’t go thinking, well this isn’t about me; I tithe, fast, receive Holy Communion, Lead singer in the choir, church worker or even a pastor. Take heed! You who think you stand. Who’s Lord over your life? Have you made Jesus Lord in your life? Have you accepted the salvation He brought through His death? Have you let go of yourself at the cross and allowed the Holy Spirit help with your weakness? We are living in hard and trying times. Standing for the truth has become archaic, evil has been painted grey, our lives are governed by popular opinion, you can’t really say what’s right or wrong anymore. In the midst of all this chaos we desperately need the help of the Holy Spirit.
I may never get to meet you physically but the Spirit of God is boundless and limitless. You may be unsure of where you’ll spend eternity if you take your last breath. Here’s a guide from God through His Word Romans 10 vs 9 “For with the heart a person believes (adheres to, trusts in, and relies on Christ) and so is justified (declared righteous, acceptable to God), and with the mouth he confesses (declares openly and speaks out freely his faith) and confirms [his] salvation”
We can say this short prayer together “Dear Father, I come before You through Your Son Jesus Christ and I admit I’ve tried to run the affairs of my life without Your direction and I still find it empty. I’m tired of leading and I look to You for direction. Please come into my life and be my Lord and Saviour. I pray You mould me into a Masterpiece and may my life point the world to You. This I’ve prayed through Jesus Christ. Amen”
Welcome to the family. One of the ways you can maintain a relationship and know God more is by studying His Word (Bible); you can never have enough of it and get attached to a company of believers (Church). I pray whenever it’s our time to leave this world we’ll all be welcomed into God’s kingdom. See you on the other side.
LOADS OF LOVE
JMAD

This entry was posted in Reflections, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A certain rich man I know

  1. It is ok to have stuff as long as that stuff doesn’t have you!

  2. I went away with this statement most importantly: “in our quest for relevance and fulfilment let us not forget the greatest fulfilment of all time lies in where we will spend eternity.” That’s a power-packed statement! Thank you JMAD.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

