Tomorrow may never come.

He was on her laps all day while she stroked his hair; he got lost in the cozy atmosphere. That was the position he took and he kind of got used to it, forgetting you can’t take coals in your laps and not get burned.” She said, The Philistines are upon you, Samson! And he awoke out of his sleep and said, I will go out as I have time after time and shake myself free. For Samson did not know that the Lord had departed from him” Judges 16 vs 20 AMV

This is a scene shot between 1050BC – 1000BC; I’ll give you two contemporary scenes shot in 2013AD. I’m sure you can relate to it.

SCENE 1

For some funny reason I’ve been experiencing some favour while travelling. On two occasions, I got to the airport 10 – 20 minutes before boarding and a little smile got me a seat. Well I tried that this year, got to the airport at about 9.10 a.m.  for a 9.30 a.m. flight and got the shock of my life; The counter had been closed for boarding. Did I mention people were still boarding? You know it’s  easier to take the news if the plane had taken off but to see it right in front of you, Oh Dear! I turned to a professional beggar, brought all my smiling tactics to the table, you know how ladies can instantly transform their faces to that of a baby, I did all that and it didn’t work on the guy. I needed to report to the office that day and that was the only flight available. By now you already know I missed the flight.

IMG_9150

How can this smile be resisted? lol

SCENE 2

I serve in the Youth Church and we’ve an intercessory prayer every Sunday from 6.30 – 6.45 a.m. and it’s compulsory. I’ve never made it to church by 6.30 but I usually get there by 6.40 a.m. and I start to run like someone practising for the next Olympics (Even on my heels). Thankfully I always get there a few minutes before 6.45 a.m. Well I kind of got used to that and it was working for me, until last Sunday I did the same routine and by the time I got there the prayers had ended and this is the love talk I got from my asst. co-ordinator “Chijioke, you know I love you, but you can’t serve today, every other person that was sent home last week was truly sorry too”. You don’t want to know how I felt.

In the scenes above, you’ll notice something. I had been doing the same things over and over again and it had been working but it didn’t make it right. You may just be like me but the difference is, your rope may be shorter and the consequences may be worse than mine. For as much as I took another flight the next day and I’ve another opportunity to get to church early, you may not have the same experience. Yours could just be the last opportunity and there won’t be time to change. Samson thought it was same ole same ole and we know what happened to him. Have we taken the Grace we’ve for granted?

We can relate this to the Second Coming of Jesus Christ. He shall come like a “thief in the night”. This simply means at a time you’re not expecting Him. We may never know the exact time the thief will break into our home but we can secure our homes, same applies to our walk here on earth. We shouldn’t just get used to Mercy and Grace; therefore choose to live our lives anyhow.

Tomorrow

I may never know what you’ve been doing and getting away with but there’s an All Seeing God who knows it all and He’s asking you, how long will you continue? Take out time today, do a self-evaluation, and like I always say have a “Me” time. Be honest with yourself, come to think of it, you’ve lived a lie to the whole world; the least you owe yourself is the truth. Today if you read this post do not harden your heart. Tomorrow may just be too late.

 Life

If you need to drop some habits, then go ahead and get rid of it. If you need to let go of your old way of life, then we could say this prayer together.

“Dear Lord I thank You for today. I’ve finally realised I’ve been on the wrong path and I’m sorry for shutting You out of my life all this while. I receive forgiveness through the Blood of Jesus. I am new in You and my life is meaningful. I thank You for Your Dear Son Jesus Christ and the price He paid on the cross for me”.

Enjoy your new life and build yourself up through the studying of the Word and join a good Bible – based church. See you on the other side.

Loads of Love.

JMAD.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tomorrow may never come.

  1. uzoma says:

    Nice one dear.pls,kip it up.its blessing lives.dnt b discourage in anyway.

  2. femmetotale says:

    This is really very thought provoking. I don’t know how many times I’ve taken his grace for granted. God help me oh!

  3. Jmad, does sayin of dat prayer makes some free? I had issues with ur not including d consequences of ur action and relating with d idea/ tittle of ur essay. That alone wuld hv give effect. It looked a rush work. My bad. Hw r u dear?

    • JMAD says:

      First of all the prayer sets one free if you believe it does. “For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart, you’ll be set free”. I only acted by the prompting of the Holy Spirit. Its not my job to set one free. I’m only a vessel. Concerning the post. I don’t think anything was left unsaid. The consequences are glaring but if you think I didn’t say some things then I’ll be glad to know those things. Thanks for the observation. I’m doing good.

  4. Amiable Amaka says:

    wow, this piece is amazing! i used to have same ‘sweet smile’ flight experience until i missed my flight twice then i quit begging and always got there early. thanks for sharing, God bless you!

  5. Adaobi Ejiogu says:

    Jiokey God bless you for this piece. Many of us take things for granted, as if we are sure of the next minute. I hope this speaks as loudly to every other reader as it spoke to me. More power to your elbow girl!

    • JMAD says:

      Thanks dear. So true. I’m sure God is at work in reminding us through this post. All I pray is that we’ll all have a yielding heart.

  6. Alfred says:

    Great write-up. Lovely insight. Well done n God bless you!

  7. lol.

    First I thought you were going the way of men with women…how nothing on earth can save a man from the wiles of a woman..then the twist…nice one. Food for thought.

    • JMAD says:

      * Big smile. Nothing at all oh. Its really the achilles heel of men. Any man who has mastered it, is on his way to victory. Thanks

  8. bethelli says:

    Dearest Chijie tks 4ur lovely post I am so glad it came in on my bday Sumtyms I wsh I read som of ur post b4 bcomin victim of certain …. I am so sober (wshin I read dis post b4 goin 4d US Visa interview yestada) Wel Visa was nt granted /*sobs Aniway D prayer @d end of dis post is trully amaizin n awesome. Guess dats d msg God wntd me 2stat gettin usd 2. Chijie may God bless U, tak u 2places u neva imagind (tru ur writin) Really tryin hard 2b sober (4rm yestadays ordeal) but @d same tym dis ur smile ehh .. Chei ) Really had 2stare it wif out smilin bak …my God! … I wonda hw d airpot guy ova came it! lolz

    • JMAD says:

      Bethel you are most welcome. You know often times we can’t explain why things turn out the way they do but we can learn to say regardless of what happens Lord I trust You. Cheer up and look on the brighter side. There are greater opportunities ahead. As for the airport guy, he’s probably made of steel funny enough the next day he smiled at me.

  9. Eche Moneke says:

    My goodness! How did I miss this post? I’ve missed my flight a number of times and on each occasion, it was always a stern-looking lady who turned me back. I like to get ready for things earlier than normal but each time I fail to plan as early as I would, I find that I’d have a perfect outcome but with a serious burst of adrenalin accompanying it. Methinks the adrenalin rush isn’t really good for me so I’m working towards having a change in attitude. As always, nice piece. Way to go darl!

    • JMAD says:

      Nwanne n nwoke *big wide grin* yea how could you have missed this post? The adrenalin rush errrmmm it makes me really nervous with lots of thoughts. I’m still working on keeping to time especially flight time. Thanks for your kind words.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

