Do you have CBD?????

imagesCAPS4OV5

Wondering what CBD is? Don’t look too far or go googling it, you’ll find out soon. Just stay with me. A few days ago I needed to do some house shopping, please take note house shopping. Somehow I stopped over at a shop to look around. The shop didn’t have fresh tomatoes or “oha”. It had shoes and not just some random shoes or the one a friend refers to as the type used in jumping “molue” buses. I’m talking of drop-dead, gorgeous, beautifullllllllllll shoes. The guy was glad to see me , and he set out to bring out the kind of shoes I liked and I tried them on. I wish I took a picture of the shoes on my feet *deep breath*. I picked three and after much debate on the price we came to a conclusion. Funny thing was, I didn’t have the physical cash on me, but just like how objects are drawn to a point by the “Bermuda Triangle” , I could literally see an ATM machine drawing me close and guess what……………………………………………. You’ll find out later *tongue out*.
Now to the question, CBD simply means Compulsive Buying Disorder. It involves and not limited to people who spend beyond their means, it also includes people who spend an inordinate amount of time shopping or who chronically think about buying things but never purchase them.
imagesCACMZTCR

 

A quick survey will reveal the female gender is more affected by this plague. Hey guys, don’t think you’re exempted. How many of us in all honesty have gone shopping and after picking out those lovely items, got home and felt miserable for buying it. Or a look into your wardrobe, you find clothes and shoes with their tags staging their own “occupy wardrobe” for more than six months. There are reasons we are plagued with this disorder. Look through and know where you fall.
– You buy because you need it.
– You buy because you want it.
– You buy it because it’s cool (Rave of the moment).
– You buy as a substitute for depression.
– You buy because you saw it in a fashion magazine or on a celebrity.
A lady said she loves to shop because it’s a form of therapy when she’s depressed.
You know, it isn’t really about now rather the effect down the road. If you can’t say no now to those voices screaming in your head buy, buy and buy (in fact your name has become “BUY“), you won’t be able to say no to your child when you go shopping together and the child wants to pick everything in the kiddies section because truth be told you can’t give out what you are not. Granted we all want to look good, and like the saying goes “looking good is serious business”.

imagesCASC866X

We want the clothes, shoes, human hair, jewellery and lots more. I like them too but we can never have enough of them, so why have sleepless nights over the one you just saw displayed. My dear by the next morning, a new and perhaps better one is displayed.
Luke 12 vs 15 “ And He said to them, guard yourself and keep from all covetousness (the immoderate desire wealth, the greedy longing to have more) for a man’s life does not consist in and is not derived from possessing overflowing abundance or that which is over and above his needs” AMP.
A whole lot comes with compulsive buying. In most cases you run into debt and a lack of self-control too. Living on debts is a no no. Why eat up your future for temporal satisfaction?
Now to the question, if I succumbed to the pressure to buy? I resisted it but trust me it wasn’t an easy decision. I kept on going back and forth with how amazing the shoes will look on me and if you know me well, the taste for good looking shoes runs in the family (thanks to my mum). You’ll be wondering how I refrained from buying those shoes. I remember going out with my mum and faced with a similar situation with lovely clothes and shoes displayed and in a quest to pick many she’ll always say “iheoma anaghi agwu-agwu” meaning good things never finish. Somehow that has been my guide. Am I saying I’ve said NO all the time? Definitely NO but I’m glad I’m not where I used to be.
We are going do an exercise. Go to your wardrobe and select the clothes and shoes you haven’t used in the past One year and give them out. Next write down what you REALLY NEED. This will be a sort of guide in your next shopping. If you still see yourself drawn to compulsive buying, put sticker notes on your dressing table or anywhere conspicuous with the inscription “I’m not a compulsive buyer, I have the ability to say No and I can do without that item
Above all look to the Holy Spirit to help you with Self – Control . He doesn’t deny us when we come to Him in sincerity. I’m certain you are on your way to self-improvement. See you at the shop top.
Loads of Love.
JMAD.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do you have CBD?????

  1. Eche Moneke says:

    ‘Iheoma adighi agwu agwu’ really. You obviously know how I’m a sucker for IT things. Funny enough, I’m not really a shop-a-holic but I have CBD for any (and I mean ANYthing) that has to do with info tech. I don’t care if I’m not gorgeously dressed but provided I get the latest softwares, IT books, IT accessories, etc, then I’m good. These days, I’ve disciplined myself to the point where I have a ‘To-buy’ list in my BB. It has helped me gauge what I buy & it has also helped me manage my expenditure. As I purchase any on my list, I just delete it. As I type this, I think the list is nearing 20 (LOL). Not to worry, the numbering is 20 but the items yet to be purchased stands at 8. Once again, nice right up & good line of thought.

    • Bethelli says:

      Wel Eche I tnk I am wif U on d IT matter I am d Head of IT @my ofic So Iam in2a whol lot of stuffs (animation, linux, programin,web design/development, database, grafixs ntworkin etc) Wel wif dis writ up I dnt mind sharin som of my stuffs wif U (dey r d latest nt 2wory) I gues our case is CDD Compulsive Downloadin Disorder lol (I dwnload approx 5gb of material evryday U cn imagin) Som sofwares r evn outdatd b4 I try dem out *tsk. Aniway I am happi I read dis piece of write up I wonda if I nid discplin myslf here Trut is its indiscipline 2staf out-dated in d IT circle doe I maytb wrung! Tanks jmad 4yt another awesome writeup Concernin CBD – dat can be a terribl habit but sumtims 1tends 2get dis habit due 2 misinterpretation of a msage hed @ savic I tink its a matter of balance as jmad stated (inbtwn d lin interpretatn) and no 1 is best @strikin d balance dan Gods Spirit I really need help her But I truly g8ful dat dis write up as wif ALL other has opend my eye Tks Chijie

      • Eche Moneke says:

        OMG!!! 5GB daily? Damn! Damn!! Damn!!!
        Bros, I no fit shout. You’re ‘geekier’ than I can ever imagine. I just added you on FB. We’d relate from there. Cheers!

      • JMAD says:

        @Bethel lol at CDD. A problem is half solved once its identified. The work starts now. We’ll continue to strike that wall of compulsive buying or downloading as the case may be until it disintegrates.

    • JMAD says:

      @Eche thanks for admitting. Hope other guys can relate to this. We all have our favs. I’m glad you know its all about discipline. Its a step at a time.

  2. UCHECHI says:

    You missed one of d reasons 4 CBS – You buy bcos its a fair deal (its cheap & u may neva get ϊϯ somewhere else 4 đàt price). I don’t knw if dts same as wot some call, ‘Retail Therapy’.
    ‘*Whew*! Many of us are guilt of the above oo, i mean CBS. Hmm… Am soo guilty *can’t watch* , that i practically converse (loudly) with myself to caution me 4m falling helplessly in2 the buying temptation at any given point. But like u said, i have not totally escaped unscorched 100% of the time but the conscious discipline of self has gone a long way †̥ǒ help.
    But i admit, we enjoy ŧħξ satisfactn we get when we display d culprits (items) on our beds/wardrobe immediately we get home, or even d acolades pple shower(where did u get dt stuff? Y̶̲̥̅̊
    σu look really nice in đàt, etc) on us wen we adorn ourselves with dem. But bottomline is, priotise and be disciplined, its a virtue! Tnxx Jmad 4 heating ϊϯ on d head.

    • JMAD says:

      Thanks Uchechi I think the key word here is prioritise and you said it. Truth is there’ll still b many fair deals but we sure need to disciplined. We’re getting there.

I Appreciate your THOUGHTS

